A to Z Blogging challenge B for Body image and what to do when your two year old demands lipstick

A to Z Blogging Challenge 2015 April 2 B

I have generally hardly cared about dressing well or even looking decent. Most times I walk around with oversized clothes and rumpled hair. I dont know if it is because I am supremely comfortable with my body image. I think it is more that I have a certain inertia when it comes to making an effort to look good. Ocassionally I try, but mostly I am not bothered.

 

So I pretty much have no beauty products at home. Some moisturizer, old dried up llip stick and nail polish from around the time of my wedding eight years ago. I thought that was nothing at all to influence my almost three year old to start thinking about these things. I thought she would think about herself just like I did, and while this is not exactly healthy body image, at least it is not troublesome body image.

 

But I underestimated the impact of peer pressure even at such a young age. Migu spends about 3 hours in her day care everyday. There are slightly older girls there and she has picked up stuff like nail polish and lip stick from them. SHe uses her crayons to color her nails, she pretends to be applying lipstick with her finger. She demands that perfume be sprayed on her.

 

Now this really puts me in a dilemma. I dont want to intrinsically judge these things as bad. I choose not to use them, but to each their own. And a woman who uses any of these accessories is not necessarily less empowered than me. So yeah, ideally, I would not have any problem with my daughter doing these things. No problem, except that no matter how much you believe your child is different, you want t

hem to have similar intersts and values as you.

 

And on a more practical level,  I have no lipstick at home. I dont know what brands are considered good, if at all there is a child friendly brand. And frankly, no matter how much I have prioritized my child’s interests in my life, I can’t be bothered to do this research now. But does it mean giving up and letting her find her own friend who shares these interests at age 3. Somehow the thought that they have a life which you cant witness at such a young age is quite daunting.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “A to Z Blogging challenge B for Body image and what to do when your two year old demands lipstick

  1. Sally says:

    Haha! I’ve had the same dilemma! I don’t wear makeup or nail polish, but my youngest daughter (now 11) from about the age of three has been interested in all that. She begs me on a regular basis to be allowed to do MY nails.

    I found you through the A-to-Z challenge. It’s my first time attempting it.

Leave a Reply

